Catholic Education Services – Diocese of Cairns

The Cairns Diocese encompasses 377,000 km2 from Cardwell in the south, west to the Northern Territory Border including the Atherton Tablelands, and north to the Torres Strait Islands and Gulf of Carpentaria.

The Diocese’s 30 Catholic schools and colleges (also referred to by the general public as private schools and non-government schools) provide a quality education to almost 11,500 students – over 6,700 primary students and over 4,700 secondary. Our schools extend from Tully in the South, west to Dimbulah on the Atherton Tablelands, and north to Thursday Island in the Torres Strait.

Schools are clustered around the populous centres of Cairns, the Atherton Tablelands to the west and the Innisfail/Johnstone district to the south. All our schools, except our most remote schools at Thursday Island (and its campus on Hammond Island) and Weipa, are within two hours driving time of Cairns.