East Pilbara Shire Council

The Shire of East Pilbara is one of the four local government areas in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, and with an area close to 380,000 square kilometres (147,000 sq mi), is the third largest municipality in the world, after two new municipalities in Greenland (Avannaata and Sermersooq, with each around 650,000 km). The municipality is bigger than many countries, for example Finland and is comparable to Japan. The Shire's seat of government, and home to nearly half the Shire's population, is the town of Newman in the shire's south-west.